Do You See What I See?

“Do you see what I see?  Do you hear what I hear?”   With the holiday season upon us and carols in the air, these particular lyrics are echoing in my head.  Every day, I have the chance to connect with people from many different walks of life.  So much of what we see, what we hear, what we know, is based on our individual experiences.  I’ve been amazed at how many multiple perspectives of the same situation can exist and represent “the truth.” As a new year approaches, I am reflecting on what I’ve had a chance to witness.  I continue to be concerned at the disparities I see.  And yet, I hear, from both those living through incredibly challenging struggle and those living into immense opportunity, there is a deep, shared desire to create a healthy, safe, productive and prosperous community.  When I read these NY Times articles “Good Poor, Bad Poor”  and “Inequality, Indian Style” , I was struck by how important it is to walk in the shoes of others.  Here’s to making progress in 2014…

Leave a Reply

